In this article:
Check to see if the field has any dependancies and if any contact information is saved in it. To see the contacts containing data from the field you want to delete:
- Go to the menu, in the Subscribers tab.
- Open the advanced search by clicking on the link at the end of the search bar.
- Choose your custom field from the available criteria.
- Select the Is set search filter.
- Then, click Search. The list of contacts with information from this field, if any, will appear on your screen.
To delete a field:
- Go to .
- Click on the trash can icon to the right of the field you want to delete and click Confirm.
Frequently asked questions
- Why can’t I delete my field?
- Can I delete fields with minor dependencies?
- What if the field I'm deleting is used in a template, draft, or scheduled campaign?
- If I delete a field after using it in a previous campaign, will its content be deleted from sent emails?
- What happens if the field I am deleting is being used in a subscription form?
Why can’t I delete my field?
Custom fields with a major dependency to one or more elements cannot be deleted. You will need to remove the dependencies before you can delete this field. Learn how to remove dependencies >
Can I delete fields with minor dependencies?
Yes, minor dependencies will not prevent you from deleting fields. On the other hand, certain elements could stop working correctly. For example, if the custom field is inserted in a campaign, the content will appear blank.
What if the field I'm deleting is used in a template, draft, or scheduled campaign?
If you send a message that contains a variable from a field that no longer exists, it will simply be replaced by a space in your message. While not dramatic, it would be a shame if important information was missing from your email.Therefore, we suggest removing the variables from the deleted fields from your templates before sending them.
A template (as well as a draft, scheduled campaign or scenario) with a variable from a deleted custom field in its content will have a warning icon to the right of its name. When you open your template in edit mode, a message will appear in a popup window allowing you to identify the field in question. There will be an option to automatically remove it from the content of your message. If you choose to manually remove the variable from the deleted field instead, don't forget to update the text version of your template as well.
If I delete a field after using it in a previous campaign, will its content be deleted from sent emails?
No, once delivered, the emails you send will not change. The content of the field inserted at the time of sending will remain there, even if your recipient has not opened it yet.
What happens if the field I am deleting is being used in a subscription form?
If this is a hosted or iframe form, the field will automatically disappear from the form.
If this is an HTML form, unfortunately it’s impossible for you to know when a custom field is being used in an HTML form. Therefore, if you delete a field that is located on one of these forms, it will remain there. Your subscription form will continue to function normally, but the information your subscribers enter in the deleted field will be lost.